The platform will quickly permit individuals to regulate who can see after they’re on-line, stop others from taking screenshots of sure messages, and depart teams with out notifying complete channels.
WhatsApp has greater than 2 billion customers globally, and is owned by Facebook ( mum or dad Meta. Announcing the adjustments on Facebook and Instagram, CEO Mark Zuckerberg stated the corporate would “keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.” )
WhatsApp has lengthy touted its use of end-to-end encryption, which suggests solely the sender and recipient of a message can see its contents. And like different personal messaging platforms, it already permits customers to ship messages that disappear after set durations of time.
However, final 12 months, WhatsApp was closely scrutinized after an replace to its phrases of service.
At the time, many customers expressed considerations a couple of part of WhatsApp’s privacy coverage that detailed what’s shared with mum or dad firm Facebook, which has a troubled repute in terms of defending person data.
The replace despatched some individuals flocking to Signal, one other widespread encrypted messaging platform.
Facebook tried to dispel confusion over the coverage, saying that its data sharing practices weren’t new and didn’t “impact how people communicate privately with friends or family.”
Now, two of the brand new options being launched on WhatsApp — which can allow you to select who can see once you’re lively, and to depart teams silently — will begin rolling out to all WhatsApp customers this month.
The screenshot blocking instrument, which might be made obtainable on messages meant to be considered simply as soon as, continues to be being examined and might be made obtainable later, in accordance with WhatsApp.